From the road to the ring

Guest post by Emma Loch.

I started boxing about 3 years ago. I wanted to get fit again. I used to play football and rugby – all the sport I did was a team sport. After having 6 months out I was up for a new challenge – Boxing, why not? I googled local clubs and it just happened there was a club less than 10 minutes walk from my house – Let’s Go! That first session, I was in love – it was the hardest workout I had ever experienced… But my competitive side would not let up, I needed to keep up with the rest…

That was then, this is now…

Here’s my story on becoming a boxer. 2018 started and I told myself, ” no more excuses, this season is yours. Get in the ring and put this into practice! ” I said that last season too. This time I told my coach, “I’m ready!” and I told as many people as I could. Now I’d have to do it.

I had a couple of months to get super fit and ready for the ring. Eating right, training right, thinking right – I could do it!

An offer came in that my coach couldn’t resist. It was an ideal bout; a first timer like me, she had dropped weight like me. The fight was in three weeks, on a Friday night, in Oxford. I couldn’t not. I was so up for it – this was going to be the moment I had been waiting for since that first session all that time ago.

I left the gym that night pumped – I was going to be a real boxer!

A few hours later, the reality kicked in – Shit! Can I really do this? I’m not fit enough, I need more time. The anxiety continued. If I wasn’t in the gym, I would be bouncing around not knowing what to do because every time I stopped I’d think about what could go wrong -‘ What if I freeze and don’t throw anything?What happens if I get in the ring and I need a pee?! Any spare second the what if’s popped into my head.

I would lie at night visualising how it may pan out – I never lost; I would get the first shot, step off and go again, always thinking hands tight, move your head.

Fight Night – I was happy I was a little underweight so I could eat. Work as normal, quietly ask the boss if I could leave early – ” not a problem Em, go win!” So with everyone on the edge of their seats at home, I was on my way to the ring!

The journey went quickly. I was unusually calm (well, much more so than the last few weeks). For that, I thank my coaches, it was road trip with a cracking soundtrack.

Adrianne had explained how things will work when we get there so I was good. I weighed in and watched the other bouts – I felt good, I’m going to do it – Kit on – I’m am EBC tonight.

The call came – Agh!! I need another pee, feeling weak at the knees I run through my plan: hands tight, move your head, hit hard. Agh! What if I freeze? What if I fall into the ring?

Standing in my corner trying to look tough, hearing the MC say “In the red corner, Emma Loch from Eastbourne” was something I will never forget. Win or lose, I’m here!

I did lose that night, but I boxed well and I learnt. I’m training to be better and I have my next bout lined up for the 3rd March in our Home Show and I cannot wait.


Follow our story on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. We #hitlikegirls and we love it.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑