Camille’s first bout.

It was a long time coming and I couldn’t have been more excited in the lead up to Camille’s bout.

By coach Adrianne

The preparation was spot on – runs completed, comfortably on weight, sparring going well… Everything was peaking when it should have been.

The day rolled up, and everything was going smoothly until my bout fell through 5 hours before weigh in. This was a positive though ; if I wasn’t boxing, I could give 100% to Camille and Emma. Ideal.

The show was going brilliantly, with a great atmosphere and no drama. Suddenly it’s time get Camille warmed up. She was looking sharp, yet calm and collected. I loved how well she communicated with me everything she was feeling. It made it so easy for me to adapt my coaching to her needs.

We had a plan:

Get in the ring and relax.

Switch of attack with a change of angle straight away.

Win the first 10 seconds and then settle.

Camille climbs into the ring and I witness her shoulders drop. ‘Get in the ring and relax’ – tick.

I give her a polite smack on the back and the bell goes. She steps in and throw a jab to the head and back hand to the body before stepping off to the right. ‘Switch of attack with a change of angle’ – tick.

The round goes on and she is smashing it. ‘Win the first 10 seconds’ – tick.

What on Earth am I going to say in the corner? She’s doing it all! The bell goes and I keep it simple – reassurance, encouragement that the plan is working and a nudge to dig those shots into the ribs a bit harder. Let’s make it eye catching. Let’s not give the judges any opportunity to score it 10-9 the other way.

Round 2 and 3 also go to plan. Camille is dominating comfortably. The switch of attack was scoring everytime. Everything we drilled and repeated in the gym over and over again was suddenly being showcased in front of hundreds of people and it was about to get the first of many wins!

As we’re waiting to get the decision. My heart is pounding. Surely she’s won? The hand is raised – She did it!!!!


Follow our story on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. We #hitlikegirls and we love it.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑